Shared Governance

As stated in Section 3.1 of the University Handbook, the governance model for KSU upholds the basic principles of shared governance. Three elected Advisory Governance Bodies comprise the primary constituents of shared governance and provide adequate representation for each of the constituents of the University. 

  • Faculty Senate,
  • Staff Senate, and
  • Student Government Association

There are three additional bodies who have responsibility to review and provide feedback on KSU policies. 

  • Academic Deans Council,
  • Chairs’ and Directors’ Assembly, and
  • Administrators Council. 

Although the Policy Process Council is not a shared governance body, the Council consists of members representing campus-wide units who routinely engage with or initiate institutional policies.  This group provides initial review and feedback for all institutional policies.